State of Oklahoma

House of Representatives




December 13, 2012


Democratic Leader Scott Inman

State Capitol Building Rm. 548

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma  73105

Contact: Valorie Owens




House Democrats Announce Leadership for 54th Legislature

OKLAHOMA CITY (December 13, 2012) House Democratic Leader Scott Inman today announced his leadership team appointments for the 54th Legislature.

“I am incredibly proud to be surrounded by such a dynamic and energetic leadership team, and I know moving forward that they will each work tirelessly to champion our democratic ideals on the House floor,” said Leader Inman, D-Del City.

Leader Inman appointed Ben Sherrer of Chouteau as the Minority Floor Leader for the 54th Legislature. Serving directly under Leader Inman, he will be charged with maintaining contact between the leadership and the members of the House on policy issues and working to advance the goals of the Democratic Party.

For the past four years Rep. Sherrer has served in leadership as the Minority Whip and as the Senior Judiciary Advisor for the Democratic Caucus.

“Since elected Rep. Sherrer has served with integrity, compassion and conviction, and he’s also one of the hardest working men I know,” said Leader Inman. “I am confident in his skills and understanding of the challenges ahead, and I look forward to working closely with him in the coming session.”

Representative Sherrer graduated from Inola High School and continued on to Oklahoma State University for his undergraduate degree and Oklahoma City University for his Juris Doctorate. Prior to opening his own law office he was an auditor for the Oklahoma State Auditor and Inspector’s office, a bailiff for the Oklahoma County District Court, and both a city and town attorney for Chouteau and Pryor, respectively.

Leader Inman appointed Rep. Chuck Hoskin of Vinita to serve as the Minority Whip. The Whip is charged with marshaling support for positions on the floor. Rep. Hoskin will be working closely with Leader Inman and Democratic Floor Leader Sherrer throughout the session.

“Rep. Hoskin cares deeply about the welfare of our state, and I know he will work hard to move Oklahoma forward,” said Leader Inman.

Rep. Hoskin graduated from Vinita High School and shortly after enlisted in the U.S. Navy. Upon his honorable discharge he continued his education at Northeastern State University where he earned his Masters of Education in School Administration. He taught American History and Government at Vinita Public Schools then served as an Administrator for Locust Grove Public Schools. Rep. Hoskin is a former Cherokee Nation Tribal Councilor and currently serves as the Chief of Staff for the Cherokee Nation Principal Chief Bill John Baker.

Serving as the Assistant Minority Whip is Cory Williams of Stillwater, who held this position during the 53rdLegislature.

Rep. Williams graduated from Stillwater High School and went on to attend Oklahoma State University where he received a B.S in Political Science and a M.S. in International Trade and Development. He completed his law degree from Oklahoma City University and currently operates his own law firm.

Eric Proctor of Tulsa was re-appointed to serve as Deputy Minority Floor Leader.

Prior to being elected to state office, Rep. Proctor served as a youth minister and a high school Economics, History and Government teacher.

The House Democrats last year re-elected Warner resident Jerry McPeak to serve as Caucus Chair, and re-elected Joe Dorman of Rush Springs to serve as the Caucus Vice-Chair.

Leader Inman appointed Curtis McDaniel of Smithville to serve as the Minority Caucus Secretary.

Rep. McDaniel has a Bachelor’s degree in Agriculture Education and a Masters in Administration from Southeastern Oklahoma State University. A longtime educator, he served as a vocational agriculture instructor at Oney, Helena-Gotry, Smithville and Newcastle school districts, and later as principal at Smithville High School until his retirement upon election to office.

“I think with our leadership team we’ve struck a great balance of rural and urban legislators who will give their all in the service of this state,” said Leader Inman.